Shenandoah Community School District Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors – April 8, 2024 Administration Board Room

Call to Order:

Board President Jean Fichter called the meeting to order at 5:02 pm.

Roll Call:

Roll Call was answered by Directors Jean Fichter, Glenn Mason, Brent Twyman, Adam Van Der Vliet, and Clint Wooten. Also present were Superintendent Dr. Kerri Nelson, School Business Official William Barrett, and Board Secretary Lisa Holmes.

Mission Statement:

The SCSD Mission Statement was read by Director Van Der Vliet.

Welcome to Audience:

President Fichter welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Open Forum:

President Fichter read the rules for speaking during the open forum. There was no public comment.

Consent Agenda:

Approve the consent agenda to include previous minutes, the financial accounts, the payment of bills, out-ofstate travel requests and the May 2024 graduate list (pending all requirements are met). Personnel Requests: Contracts 2023-24: Logan Hughes, Asst. Softball Coach – \$3,879. Resignations: Jennifer Chapa, HS Language Arts – effective end of school year; Clare Conley, MS Science/FFA – effective June 30, 2024; Hailey Johnson, JK-8 Secretary – effective May 24, 2024; Stacy Lihs, MS Student Council – effective end of school year; Ty Ratliff -HS Mentor Teacher, Head Football Coach, MS/HS Weightlifting, Head Track Coach, MS Boys Basketball – effective end of school year. Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Mason. Motion carried unanimously.

Action Items:

Approve Discontinuing Sharing Agreement with Clarinda CSD for ELL Teacher for 2024-25:

Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Wooten. Motion carried unanimously. *Approve Renewal of the Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Commission Natural Gas Program for 2024-25:* Motion to approve by Director Wooten, second by Director Van Der Vliet. Motion carried unanimously. *Approve Bound Agreement for 2024-25:*

Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Mason. Motion carried unanimously.

Approve Administrative Reassignments:

Motion to approve the reassignment of Jordan Newberg from Assistant JK-8 Principal to Elementary Principal and Aaron Burdorf from JK-8 Principal to Middle School Principal by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Wooten. Motion carried unanimously.

Informational Items:

Special Meeting – April 24, 2024 at 5:00 pm

Next Regular Meeting – May 13, 2024 at 5:00 pm

Adjournment:

Motion by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Wooten to adjourn the meeting at 5:08 pm. Motion carried unanimously.